The Veterans Foundation of Stanislaus County is comprised of diverse group of dedicated and concerned citizens and professionals; each bringing a special talent and experience to help support vital areas within the Foundation. Many board members are veterans themselves and are enthusiastic about ‘giving back’ to the community and to other fellow veterans.

Philip W. Moyer - Board Chair

Phil entered the Air Force in March of 1966 and served for eight years. His duty assignments included Bunker Hill AFB in Kokomo, IN, Tan Son Nhut Air Base, Vietnam, Camp New Amsterdam, the Netherlands, and Sembach Air Base, Germany. During the 1980’s Phil was General Manager of Rainbow  Fields Softball Complex in Modesto. Having served in Vietnam, and as a member of the American Legion, plus as a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars; Philip is honored to work alongside other veterans to serve the entire veterans community.


Becky Crow – Chief Executive Officer

Becky served in the U.S. Air Force during Vietnam. She is a member of the American Legion and was selected as the Stanislaus County Veteran of the year in 2015. She has 24 years experience in facilities management and retired from Yosemite Community College District in December 2014 as Director of Campus Safety.


Michael D. Pelucca – Treasurer

Mike served two tours in Vietnam as a U.S. Marine. He retired, after 38 years in education as a high school Business Education Teacher. Mike is active in the Marine Corps League, Disabled American Veterans, and the American Legion. He is also a current staff member of the annual Stanislaus County Marine Reserves Toys for Tots Campaign. Mike also tutors adults in Reading for Literacy programs.


Larry Dempsey, ESQ.

Larry is an accomplished attorney and a U.S. Air Force veteran; serving  from 1970-1974. He comes from a distinguished family of veterans; his father and step-father both serving in WWII.  Larry is committed to community and veterans service and has a considerable amount of nonprofit corporation experience working with approximately 50 nonprofit boards. Mr. Dempsey has served as president of Modesto Rotary in 2009-2010 and Chair of the local Salvation Army Advisory Board from 2015 and 2016.  Larry utilizes his experience as an attorney for the past 40 years to provide vital legal counsel to our Foundation.


Vicki Patterakis -  Vice Chair, Secretary

Vicki was a professional singer prior to marrying Chris Patterakis from Modesto, California. She performed in nightclubs across the country and appeared on several major TV shows. Lt. Col. Chris Patterakis served 24 years in the U.S. Air Force, and was the Commander/Leader and team member of the famous Air Force Thunderbirds precision flying squadron. Vicki was a member of the Greater Modesto Kiwanis Club, served on the Grand Jury for one year and was a member of Doctors Medical Center Foundation Board of Directors.


Ron Martin - Director

Ron served in U.S. Air Force at the end of the Vietnam era as a Graphic Design Specialist. He now has over 34 years experience as a senior graphic designer, copywriter, photographer, commercial printer, website designer, marketing specialist, and creative director.


Ben Williams - Director

Ben served in the U.S. Army Combat Engineers during the Persian Gulf Era. He works for the Modesto City School district and has held past leadership positions in the American Legion and the Voiture 40/8.


Carolyn Crown - Director

Carolyn worked in non-profit administration for over twenty years. She served as Executive Director of Doctors Medical Center Foundation and was active in many other community organizations. Her son-in-law has served In both Iraq and Afghanistan while enlisted in the California National Guard.


Marsha Calbreath - Admin. Assistant

Marsha has 20 years of experience as an Admin. Secretary at MJC Campus Safety; 13 years as a small business owner;  and 14 years as insurance claims adjuster. Her father was in the National Guard during Korean War while her husband served in US Navy at the Patuxent River Naval Air Station during Vietnam.

Honorary Board Members

Dale Butler – Honorary Director

Patty Stone – Honorary Director

Thomas C. Watling, Ph.D – Honorary Director

Advisory Committee

David Barnes, CFRE

Robert Hawks, CPA

Art Rossetti